Awards (Non Journalism), Journalism Award

Freedom Award winners announced

N. LaVerl Christensen was awarded today the America’s Freedom Award, the highest of 9 honors given by the Freedom Awards Committee. The announcement was made by Howard Ruff, M.C. at the luncheon held at the newly remodeled Sil’s Ivy Tower restaurant. Mr. Christensen, editor emeritus of The Daily Herald, has been called Utah County’s Senior Patriot,… Continue reading Freedom Award winners announced

Awards (Non Journalism)

Snow Honors Five Alumni With Awards

EPHRAIM – Snow College celebrated its 1985 Homecoming Saturday Oct. 26 with a parade, a football victory, and an alumni banquet highlighted by presentation of five awards. The nationally-ranked Badger footballers won their eighth straight triumph, defeating Scottsdale Community College of Arizona, 29-7. President Steven D. Bennion of Snow College presented “distinguished alumni awards” to Ethelyn… Continue reading Snow Honors Five Alumni With Awards

Awards (Non Journalism), Society

Freedom Awards Will Honor Finalists

The finalists for the Freedom Awards will vie for the prestigious honor in several categories during a luncheon June 29. The annual Freedom Awards Luncheon, co-sponsored by the Provo Area Chamber of Commerce and the America’s Freedom Festival at Provo, was started three years ago to honor citizens and organizations, primarily of Utah County, for their… Continue reading Freedom Awards Will Honor Finalists

Awards (Non Journalism), Local Heroes, Society

Delta Arts-Literacy Section Honors Two Local Residents

The Delta Arts-Literary Section of the Women’s Council of Provo will hold its annual Honor Night on Wednesday at the Women’s Cultural Center, 310 W. 500 N., Provo. The meeting will begin at 7 p.m. Honored will be N. LaVerl Christensen, former editor of “The Daily Herald,” (now Editor Emeritus), and Mrs. Ora Burrup, past… Continue reading Delta Arts-Literacy Section Honors Two Local Residents